Appearance and dressing up well

Just a friendly reminder that looks can be deceiving! :)

A girl messaged me about a week ago on dailybooth and said, “If I had your face, my life would be complete,” and I couldn’t help but think, “Well, if I actually looked like that, then my life would probably be complete too.”

I don’t think you guys realize how much of my appearance (and most girls on the internet’s appearances) is just straightened hair, pretty makeup, and push-up bras.

Original blog post

It’s all about appearance and dressing up well that I’m into right now. I never looked into the importance of presenting yourself well with the right make-up and clothes. Having been on the heavy side and not being able to find the right size and type of clothes pretty much limits me to having any fashion sense at all, though I know deep inside that I’m pretty good at it.

Being in a private university for about a year plus now and living on this other side of the country (KL) where the slightly privileged kids roam about pretty much opened my eyes to a whole new lifestyle consisting of the latest fashion and accessories. Though the students in my university in particular are pretty relaxed (with what they wear and how they carry themselves), my sister’s university however is literally a runway where appearance and dressing up well is everything.

I never understood the importance of looking good until I watched this video. All I had in my mind was that being ‘in fashion’ meant wasting your parents’ money and being snobbish which was actually, quite the opposite. Clothes make you confident and presenting yourself well enables people to treat you well and be attracted to you. It’s a known fact.

Watch the video.

After watching that and following the Fat Movement, I decided to jump into the bandwagon as well and decided that in order to dress the part, I have to get some new clothes. Thank goose it’s sale season and I have some cash on me to spend.

But before that, here are some of my plus size inspirations and things that I managed to pick up looking through their styles!

FATSHIONABLE

Blazers + Shoulder Paddings to accentuate supposed broad shoulders hence creating a slimmer waist

Floral prints to distract people (and bees) from looking at the flabby areas thus creating a slim illusion

RAWRMANIFESTO

Oversize tops paired with tight pants/skirts 

Colour blocking – loving this trend.

GABIFRESH

GARTERSANDSTOCKINGS

Skirt sit on waist/ribcage and paired with a nice thin/thick belt to create illusion of a waist.

SAKSINTHECITY

Jeans and jackets/blazers!

KAYLANITA

Cute dresses paired with blazers and tights.

If there’s one thing in common that all of these gorgeous ladies have is their love for blazers especially blazers with pointy shoulders. They’re telling me something.

Anyway, here are the clothes that I got from when I was going around Empire Mall in Subang the day before yesterday.

Cotton On – RM68 for both top and skirt. (30% off each)

F.O.S. – RM39 for blue top. Will get the denim shirt soon.

Am not fashionable at all, but hopefully with these new clothes, my inner fashionista will come out evolvd further than shying away from the spotlight. It’s quite exciting really.

Till then, DON’T FORGET TO WATCH THE VIDEO IF YOU HAVEN’T! (: It explains a lot as to why I’m doing this (going into being all fashionable and stuff – and it’s not because of peer pressure, trust me! There’s more complicated, psychological reasons to it!

By the way, Selamat Hari Raya and Selamat Hari Merdeka everybody! Take care and eat them yummies up before the festive seasons are over! This is the only time for you to eat without (hopefully) being judged!

xx

Sprinkle me

