Things you should totally do! (For the fun of it!)

1. Not dressing up when going out

I spent my New Year’s Eve and days before that in a club with a bunch of really close friends. It was one of those rare occasional where we decided to just hit the club and have a great time just dancing.

What was different about those nights in the club is that while everyone (girls I mean) dress up in their cute outfit, heels and pretty make-up, I decided to not wear anything special or put make-up on myself. I instead, wore a normal top and shorts, flats and my face was bare. And still, I had the best fun ever.

It just feels great to be in my own skin without having to worry about fall outs from my make-up or leg cramps from the heels. It’s liberating!

2. Meeting an online friend

I have a lot of Internet friends, but not many I could call close friends. Izzati for example, is a really good friend of mine who I am thankful to cross paths with on the Internet! Back then, we talked to each other via Friendster and she was such a fun girl to talk to! Can you believe it, we have been friends ever since we were 14 and only met each other (finally!) when we were 21! Insane!

Over the years, I have become more brave to meet online friends. I guess it’s because we click so well on the Internet that we just needed to see how we would be like in real life. Some online friends were a bit awkward when we first meet each other, some were judgemental and tend to not want to have anything to do with me after meeting me (likewise too actually) and some, like Izzati, become a really good friend of mine.

Meet an online friend if both of you are ready. But always, ALWAYS remember to be careful. Close friend or not, you have to always consider the what if. Have fun!

3. Travel locally

If you’re short on cash but would like to travel, then the easier way is to travel within your own country! It’s always fun to do this especially when you’re in university/college where you get to travel to your friend’s hometown and stay in their own homes! That is of course, if they don’t mind! Not only are you able to save money on accommodation, but you also get your own personal tour guide!

You might say that there is no point to travel within your own country because everything looks the same, but you might be surprised that some things are not the same! Like eating yummy food that you can only find in Ipoh or exploring historical places in Malacca. I have to say that I did get a bit of a culture shock when I went to Malacca and Perak. It’s somewhat different from Sabah!

4. Being a tourist in your own town/state


F and I at the National Museum

This is always fun. I have been living in KL for the past 1.5 years now and I still haven’t explored KL thoroughly, especially the touristy places such as the zoo, the museum, KL Tower… So my friend F and I went on a random tourist cruise on the KL Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour and that was so fun!

Explore your own town or state, especially those touristy places that you would never go because it’s just there. Or do touristy stuff like climb the Mount. Kinabalu if you’re from Sabah. I call this touristy stuff because ask any locals here in Sabah, and I’m sure most of them (including myself. Guilty!) have yet to climb Mount. Kinabalu despite knowing that people come from half across the world just to climb it!

5. Attract attention

It’s fun to be the centre of attention sometimes. Like wear something bizarre or absolutely ridiculous to a mall and act absolutely normal about it. It feels weird at first to have everybody look at you, but you’ll get use to it and would secretly enjoy it as well!

There was this one time where I wore a fluffy crown (pictured) to the mall and I literally had people stopped on their tracks and stare at me. Some kids (and adults) got all giggly about it. Some even asked me, “Where’s your prince?“. Some ‘cool’ kids acted as if they didn’t see me despite having me walk in front of them, which I think was hilarious!

My friends and I did something special for last year’s Halloween by dressing up and going to the mall. We dressed up because we wanted to participate in the costume competition in T.G.I. Fridays, but was disappointed to know that the competition is actually the next day. But we did though have quite a laugh with our costumes. As usual, people would stop and look at us and kids would be excited (and scared!).

Such a fun night!

6. Going through old photo albums with a friend

My sister and I, taken in Sandakan; 1999. I was 9 and she was 7. Can’t remember if this was before or after our visit to Sepilok.

Us now. Taken last year. A 21 year old and 19 year old. Major goofballs.

I never knew how fun this was until I actually did it with a friend! A friend came over to my house the other day and wanted to see some old photos of me. So, I took out some of my photo albums and explained to her the histories of the photos.

I have to say, it was pretty fun to go through old photos and share it with a friend because you’re able to share stories with each other and get to know each other a lot better! Great memories are always fun to talk about :)

Well, yeah… So that’s about it. These are just SOME of the many things that you should totally do, just for the fun of it!

Let me know if there are things that I should add to the list (and my list!). I’m sure there are lots!

Till then, take care guys and have a great week ahead! :)

2 thoughts on “Things you should totally do! (For the fun of it!)

Sprinkle me

