Not good enough?

I feel blessed for my ability to write. You rarely encounter someone who has an interest in writing. I mean, you don’t see writing listed alongside travelling, reading or shopping as someone’s hobby. It’s a kind of weird hobby to have actually.

But, I like to write. It’s fun. I especially like to write about things that I personally know about and need not any references when I write my posts. Which is why I am freaked out whenever people ask me to contribute something to their website. Like I said, I need not references when I write my posts, mostly because I’m so lazy most of the time, but when it comes to articles, it’s all about the facts and references.

I know you don’t necessarily need those things, but it does help, A LOT, if you do; to make your point stronger. I learnt this in university. Assumption is bad. Real bad. And also, it is rather intimidating to read articles with a lot of witty remarks and questions that would make the audience think.

I’m not sure I can do that. I’m not sure I’m good enough to actually make people think the way I think because I sometimes question my thoughts.

What if it’s not good enough? What if they think that I’m stupid? What if they think that I am just a child; immature in my thoughts?

Being judged.

All these things go through my head as I consider an offer to write for this big ass website where EVERYONE go to.

It’s nerve-racking and surprisingly, exciting.

We’ll see how it goes. *fingers crossed!*

2 thoughts on “Not good enough?

  1. If it’s in you, the passion will never burn out. Against all odds, I refused to go the traditional path and carved a career out of writing. It didn’t matter what jobs I did as long it involved writing. And I am so glad I stayed true to my craft – Today, I still write for a living and, God-willing, am on my way to publishing my first book. The best part? I live in KK and am happy to prove you don’t have to be in KL, Singapore or New York to be a writer.

    YOU are your own worst critic – never doubt your abilities! I think you’re on the right track, Jasmine. Keep writing. We’ll keep reading.

    1. Thank you Melissa for your words of wisdom. It certainly brighten up my day (days actually!). I enjoy writing a lot, but very rarely get to do that due to lack of inspiration. But I’m telling myself to keep on writing and reading. It makes me happy and content, so why not?

      Good luck on your book! I can’t wait to see what it is about!

Sprinkle me

