The idea of travelling

[Source: ‘Backpacking around Southeast Asia on a budget‘]

I have always loved travelling, or rather, the idea of travelling. It’s exciting to venture out of your comfort zone and see the wonders of the world around you, preferably outside of your own country to somewhere far far away like, oh I don’t know, Europe? Latin America? India? For me at least!

Each of us have different reasons as to why we want to travel. Some want to see the world. Some want to find themselves. I on the other hand want to transform myself and of course, see the world too.

When you travel, you are forced to get out of your comfort zone because you need to rely on people around you to give you information, so whether you like it or not, you will have to talk to people; locals or visitors alike. You have to be brave enough to just casually come up to someone and ask them things (and expect not only friendly replies but rude ones too, not only helpful replies but confusing ones too). Through travelling, you will get constant practise, hence all that awkward pauses, smiles and nods that you’ve been having problems with will be the least of your worries when you get back to your ‘reality’.

And not to mention, there is something pretty sexy about someone who travels the world over, don’t you think? ;)

[Source: ‘Ask Tom – your travel dilemmas answered‘]
Travelling is scary, but it is an exciting one and the experience that you get from travelling and the people you meet along the way is truly priceless. One cannot deny too that travelling is an expensive hobby, which is why I opt for backpacking and not your usual luxury travelling instead (luxury travelling = staying in fancy hotels and doing normal touristy things that forces you to spend tons of money).

Another reason that prompted me to start travelling (and not just ponder on the idea of travelling) is because of a conversation I overheard during dinner with my father’s friends.

“People in their 50’s or 60’s, they wouldn’t want to go backpacking, they are retired, they want to relax! People in their 30’s or 40’s, they have obligations; family and work, they wouldn’t have time to go travelling much. It’s hard enough to get a day off, it would be even harder to bring all the kids out to travel. But those in their 20’s, they have no care in the world! No obligations, no family or work to take care of, they have all the time in the world and they’re still young and full of energy, they can do anything they want; hiking, cycling, backpacking, anything!”

And there I was, scared at 22 that I wouldn’t have the opportunity to ever travel again because my future self is either too busy or too old. So I promised myself that I would travel more. I may not have the finances to go far, but at least, I can go somewhere. At least, I can meet people to exchange experiences with, which is just as good as actually going to the places they have been to.

Thus why, I am making it my personal mission to travel more. My lack of finances will not deter me. In fact, I am already planning on countries I will visit next year!

First stop, Laos in January!!!!! Tickets are all booked and I am officially very very broke, but it’s all good! :P

Jasmine the tourist in Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Jasmine the tourist in London, England.

I hope I would have more pictures of Jasmine the tourist in 2013! Fingers crossed!

3 thoughts on “The idea of travelling

  1. Totally agree that your 20s are the best time to travel, though a lot of people like to argue that you don’t have the financial freedom yet. But, yup :D I’ve been using the time well and I’m glad you are too!! :D

Sprinkle me

