An image created with Malaysian PM's face on it.
An image created with Malaysian prime minister’s face on it to criticize the government’s choice to bring in illegal immigrants to vote during the recent general elections.

I’m not sure what I feel about the results. I guess the best word to describe my feeling (if I have to) is numb. I knew this would happen. Why wouldn’t it? They have ruled for so long, why stop ruling now?

Five more years. Give us five more years.” They said. They had 56 years to make things right, now the country is more divided than ever. I don’t think there would be any changes within the five years.

Waking up to a text saying, “BN won” is like waking up to a text about a friend who died. Both equally depressing and sad. Come to think about it, the text is about the dead anyway. What’s dead is HOPE; our hope for a new and better Malaysia. I guess I kinda expected that. I knew it was too good to be true.

Stop having high hopes, they’ll win anyway,” I told a friend the day before 5th May 2013 (election day).

I knew too well about their dirty tactics and the amount of corruption. I mean, I should know, I am studying about these things.

The supposed ‘indelible’ ink that was used during voting to indicate that they person have voted to avoid multiple votes by the same person. Citizens were told that it would last for a week or at least 3 days, but as you can see in the picture, it went off on the same day and within a few minutes of scrubbing it with soap and nail polish remover.

They played dirty, of course they won. Sad thing is, no amount of complains, anger, Facebook/Twitter updates and noise made by the international and Malaysian community would be enough to topple down the ruling party. Malaysia is too corrupted, we’re too dirty.

Well, they are, but who cares? They have supporters to back them up and the system to manipulate and although we may have supporters, we don’t have the system on our side. THEY are the system.

A non-Malaysian given free Malaysian identification card (IC) and voted two times caught by the public. A staggering 30,000 foreigners from Bangladesh, Indonesia, Philippines, Myanmar etc were reported to be flown all around Malaysia to vote for the government.
A non-Malaysian given free Malaysian identification card (I.C.) and voted two times caught by the public. A staggering 30,000 foreigners from Bangladesh, Indonesia, Philippines, Myanmar etc were reported to be given free I.C. and were flown all around Malaysia to vote for the government.

But on a brighter note, at least we had the international community talking and pressuring the government to keep up to their promise. I’m incredibly sad still, especially knowing that this is one of the most dirtiest election ever. If they didn’t play dirty, I’m sure things would end differently.

Due to this depressing downfall, opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim urged Malaysians to wear black.

Some took this urge to the next limit. In Kota Kinabalu for example, a group of people decided to wear black and tapes on their mouth and walked from Suria Sabah to the UMNO building (BN who won the elections are supported by 3 parties – UMNO, MCA and MIC) – a 10-15 minutes walk.

Groups of people wearing black and taping their mouth while walking silently and peacefully from Suria Sabah to UMNO building. The walk ended with a police raid.
Groups of people in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, wearing black and taping their mouth while walking silently and peacefully from Suria Sabah to UMNO building. The walk ended with a police raid.

I’m honestly not sure what the future will hold but I do hope that the government will be pressured to do better than last time. I’m sure they are scared out of their minds now for what the opposition and citizen will do and fear that they will fall down if things get exposed.

One can still hope right?

But anyway, congratulations on winning the elections! Too bad you had to cheat your way through it!

Sprinkle me

