The only time teenagers and I think alike – Robin Thicke, thank you for degrading women with your ‘Blurred Lines’.

NSFW pictures ahead.

I’m sure by now Robin Thicke’s song, ‘Blurred Lines‘ is busy being played on every radio station possible and I hated it. So so much.

I suppose the reason I hate it is because of how I was introduced to it in the first place. The video was shared on a Facebook group that I joined that features people, articles, things, videos, music etc that has something to say about the degradation of women everywhere and Thicke’s Blurred Lines has that written all over his video (and lyrics, mind you).

I watched the explicit video at first, which featured topless women walking about. The lyrics are horrendous which speaks about how a woman is ‘chained’/’domesticated’ by her husband/man and Thicke is (apparently) the knight in shining armour who will release her of this domestication. Don’t worry, Thicke promises to not have any papers (marriage certificate?) so that he doesn’t ‘own’ you.

[Pre-chorus: Robin Thicke]

OK now he was close, tried to domesticate you
But you’re an animal, baby, it’s in your nature
Just let me liberate you
Hey, hey, hey
You don’t need no papers
Hey, hey, hey
That man is not your maker

Although it has a catchy tune to it and have been at the top of the charts for the past month (or so I heard), the lyrics I’m afraid are absurd and the video is revolting. Sure, it’s JUST A MUSIC VIDEO, but really guys… For someone who is not smart enough like us, this is not just a music video. Stupid people will actually think that it’s okay to treat women this way and a “no” by women is actually a “yes” and women are just acting like they don’t want it when actually they do. Ugh.

Hence why men have an obsession to say things like, “I know you want it!” Oh please.

Thankfully, this reaction video was created to show how teenagers react to Blurred Lines and their response is magnificent! This gives me hope for a brighter future for our generation.

Please, take some time to watch the video. It’s worth every second and most important thing is, it makes you and all of us slightly less dumb.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The only time teenagers and I think alike – Robin Thicke, thank you for degrading women with your ‘Blurred Lines’.

  1. It’s come to a point where instead of focusing on dealing with the music itself, look to educate the public instead, give them the knowledge and guidance that made us understand the incorrect portrayal of women and not just that, but of violence and drugs just to name a few. From there the demand for such media will not be demanded in the first place, Just my two cents thank you.

  2. My Aunt showed me the video for blurred lines over the weekend. It was my first encounter with the song as well. It left me so baffled that I actually had to google the question ” why do people like blurred lines”. I found it revolting. Both the song and the video. First of all the lyrics to the song were seriously lacking. They did not really make a lot of sense. And the whole Robin has a big Bleep written all over the walls in the video was ridiculous. This was a classic example of tooting your own horn. Which quite frankly if you have to do that one may wonder why? And be less inclined to actually believe what you are trying so hard to push on them. I can’t understand the appeal for the song or the video. I wish people would spare me the whole ” It’s catchy ” explanation. That is malarkey. I would never listen to something so pathetic and uninspiring simply because it’s catchy. Especially when there are so many songs that really are moving and thought provoking that are equally as catchy. I am scared we are truly living in a degenerate society. Especially after reading about Miley Cyrus’s performance ( if you can call it that) at the VMA’s . Is this what we have succumb to ? It is embarrassing to think this is what entertains us.

    1. It IS revolting! I would understand why people say it is catchy, because it is, unfortunately. But what I don’t understand is why people still like it when it’s pretty clear how revolting the lyrics and music video is. I change the radio station whenever the song comes on. I get so angry at that song and even more angry at those who support by keeping it in the charts. Shame on them. When you think about it, there are so many songs out there that degrades women and makes their junk ‘out there’. African-American rappers do it all the time. I guess it becomes such a big issue with Thicke because he’s White and not a rapper/hip hop artist. I don’t know, just a thought. To top it off, his video is kind of pushing the limit to what is acceptable and ‘art’ against what is not accepting and absolutely demeaning to women.

Sprinkle me

