Who am I?

I often ponder on the question of “Who am I?”. It sounds very cliche and not as hard as one might think.

Who am I?
I am Jasmine!

Who am I?
I am a girl!

Sounds pretty easy.

And then I think about the different personalities and personas I carry around with me depending on who I am ‘showing’ myself to and as what. It’s pretty hard then to pin point the question of who I am and it’s even harder to determine whether these personas are really me or are they just mere acts that I perform for the amusement of others and of myself.

I question whether everyone is who they seem too because I certainly am not, or at least, not fully.

Right now, I am not performing for anybody. Right now, I am alone in my room and pondering about this question. So I wonder, is this really who I am; this state that I am in right now. This masking off of Jasmine and ultimately, the masking on of someone unnamed. Is this me? The real me? Or is it just another performance, not for others, but for myself?

3 thoughts on “Who am I?

Sprinkle me

