Big dreams, small pockets: Why the world suck without money.

It was 2004 and I was a 14-year old busy flipping through US and UK university prospectuses trying to figure out what I wanted to do after high school. I just started secondary school and already I wanted to get out and do big girls things.

My mom worked in a local college and I used to spend my Saturdays in the library waiting for my her to finish work. I didn’t mind though, I LOVED going through all the list of potential universities and subjects I could take. It was so fun! I feel like such a big girl, planning my future, all ready to take over the world.

Me at thirteen/ fourteen!

Fast forward years later, it dawned on me that I can never go to those universities. Though I wanted to so badly, I couldn’t because reality kicked in..

1. We could not afford it. My mom was (and still is) a single mom.

2. I can’t afford local private universities, let alone universities overseas!

So I did what any sane (and incredibly depressed) person would do, apply to enter public university. The day results came in, I found out that I was not accepted. I didn’t have any where to go, so I continued doing my STPM, and I did pretty okay, barely passed. The important thing is, I survived.

With my hope refreshed, I decided to apply for public universities again while trying my luck on a scholarship that caters to the applicant’s financial status as oppose to our results (which was something I could depend on rather than my barely passed results). A call came in one day and I got the scholarship! I was so happy! At the same time, the results for my public university came in, and surprise surprise, I was not accepted again, though I didn’t care, I have something better now!

Graduation day for my Canadian Pre-University course in Taylor’s College. This would not happen without the help of my scholarship!

I am one of the lucky ones, I admit.

What is sad is that I personally know a lot of friends who did not enter university despite getting good grades as they were not accepted in public universities and couldn’t afford a private one. These are the same people who at 14 flipped through university prospectus and hope for bigger things to happen in their lives. If I didn’t have my scholarship, I honestly think that my next step following secondary school is work or worse, marriage (which my mom did when she couldn’t continue to university). Thinking about how depressed I was last time made me want to work hard with the opportunity I have now.

It’s a tough competition, which is why early planning is incredibly important.

Although some of us are comfortably navigating our way through university and creating a path for a successful career for ourselves, getting a family one day is unavoidable. Whether you get married and have kids, divorce and taking care of kids or single and adopting, ensuring your child’s bright future is incredibly important.

I don’t even know why I’m thinking about children now, but the thought of having them to go through what I go through scares and saddens me, which is why I need to start caring now or as early as I can.

The info graphic below is extremely helpful in aiding you to identify just how much do you need to save up for your child’s future, which I find incredibly helpful.

Source: How Much You Need To Save For Your Kid’s Education: Malaysian Edition

I personally love this! It’s super helpful to give me a bit of idea on how much to save. Took me awhile to actually wrap myself around what they’re trying to say but after reading it a few times, it made sense.

The term, “Money makes the world go round” rings true. Money does solve everything or your life would be on a standstill. I’m extremely lucky, yes, but I fear for the future. So start saving NOWWWWW!!! (Easier said than done, sure, but the first step is thinking about it! Lol!)

Sprinkle me

