Here’s to the start of the new year.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!!

Well, Christmas may be a tad bit late to wish, but New Year is sure isn’t. It’s only the third day of the year after all!

It took me quite some time to realize that 2013 is over and once I realized that it is in fact over, I fight to remember all the good things that happened to me during the year. Instagram was my only source for me to recall things because I tend to record everything I see and experience there. My grandfather’s passing in October made it extremely hard for me to even think that there were good things that happened, but there were, in fact, there were many.

February

Badly sun burnt during a trip to Penang. My first time getting this burnt.

March

My favourite month of the year because it’s my birthday month!

23rd birthday party! The theme was 'mismatched clothes'!
23rd birthday party! The theme was ‘mismatched clothes’!
Won two tickets to the grand premiere of Ikal Mayang in conjunction with International Women Day. I went with Lisa!
I won two tickets to the grand premiere of Ikal Mayang in conjunction with International Women Day. I went with Lisa!
That one time we waited in line for free food.
That one time we waited in line for free food.
It was a very long line!
It was a very long line!
My first time attending the F1 Grand Prix and didn't understand why everyone is crazy about it. I left half way.
My first time attending the F1 Grand Prix and didn’t understand why everyone is crazy about it. I left half way.

April

This was perhaps the most intense month throughout the whole year as it was election season. It was also my first time voting so it was a pretty exciting moment for me!

Campaigning! Look at all the flags!
Tracy and I after we made our ‘duty’ as citizens. It was a pretty exciting time for both of us!

May

I suppose this is a month where I extremely influential individuals; inspirational person, Nick Vujicic and Malaysian activitist, Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan.

After weeks of voting for my slogan on why I want to meet Vujicic, I finally got to win the competition and even had a private dinner with him together with 9 other winners and university officials. So lucky!
Goofing around with Vujicic’s film crew. Pretty cool guys.
Met Dato’ Ambiga before watching Parah, a wonderful play about real life issues faced in Malaysia.
Was surprised by the boyfriend to watch a wonderful documentary called Girl Rising with delegates of the Women Deliver Conference at the KL Convention Centre!
Was surprised by the boyfriend to watch a wonderful documentary called Girl Rising with delegates of the Women Deliver Conference at the KL Convention Centre!

June

Another inspirational month where I met Malaysian poet and writer, A. Samad Said in KLCC. Pretty cool! Also the month where some pretty cool (and not so cool) things happened.

Met A. Samad said in KLCC!
Did a radio ad for my university at BFM! My first time visiting BFM too. I’m a fan of the radio station!
The horrible time when the Haze came to the Malaysian shores.
And we all had to wear masks to protect ourselves.

July

July was a fun month. There were of friends time for this month because we had a group trip to Penang and I reconnected with some college friends that I have not met for a really long time!

College gang. Been a long while since I met them!
KK gang who came to KL after their holiday overseas!

Had a trip to Penang and met some wonderful things!

Met all these beauties in a shop in Penang. Memories!
Colourful ribbons filled with wishes and hope at a famous Chinese temple.
My article on meeting Nick Vujicic came out in the R.A.G.E. section of The Star newspaper! Pretty dope!

It was a also a big month for my sister who graduated from university and officially got her diploma!

Baby sister is all grown up with a diploma and all!

August

Judging from my pictures, August was rather quiet. It was the time when we were very busy for our upcoming University musical. It was also the month where I met someone who would turn out to be a very good friend of mine. I was invited, together with the boyfriend and some musical friends, to go to her 21st Tiffany and Co. themed birthday party which was really cool!

Fooling around with birthday girl, Kat and fellow musical member, Nisshant.
Fooling around with birthday girl, Kat and fellow musical member, Nisshant.

September

Busy month! My first time campaigning for ‘prom queen’ where I had to convince people as to why they should vote for me (this was for a whole week), I had to juggle work in between (I was working half time as an intern in my university), rehearsals for musicals in the evening (which was hectic as I not only have to dance but also had to memorize my lines), on top of everything else, it was also assignment period which meant, essays, essays and more essays! It was stressful but I got through it!!!

Look at the amount of lines I had to memorize! It was incredible that I manage to remember and recite all of these!
My campaigning booth where I preach loving yourself and ignoring the conventional beauty standards according to the media.
As part of the ‘prom queen’ candidate, my makeup was sponsored and we had a professional to go our makeup which was excited! Here I was on stage during the ball singing to Adele’s ‘Someone Like You’.
Goofing around with these lovely ladies. I can’t believe it is already 2 years plus since we knew each other and spend countless crazy moments with each other!
One of the perks of working as an intern for the university is you get to appear on the school brochures! Hehe.

October

This was the hardest month to cope with as it was the month when I experienced two loses in the span of one week; Marc (who passed away tragically in a plane accident on the 10th) and my grandpa (who passed away on the 16th). But I was lucky to have my friends around to support me through this hard time.

This was taken two days after I got news of Marc’s passing. Despite the shock, the show must go on. Taken after our musical performance together with friends from college.
Our last picture with my late grandfather, taken on his 72nd birthday in August. RIP.
We had a post-musical dinner at Jogoya, my first time eating at such expensive and fancy Japanese buffet restaurant. I just got back to KL the day before after my grandfather’s funeral. Glad I managed to go for this, it was good to be with friends again.

November

This was a month of self discovery as I was on a journey to discover myself and to overcome some fears that I have.

Met the most humble and talented lady in Malaysian theatre, Jo Kukathas after a theatre workshop with Kakiseni. She was such a lovely lady and gave me a tips or two about theatre.
Had the most amazing Deepavali open house experience ever where I spent it with some drunk (or borderline tipsy) people which made the whole experience even fun! I was pretty shy at first and didn’t want to mingle, but decided that I should anyway and I’m glad I did!

Went to the Google Malaysia HQ in KL with a group of university students and lecturers and got to learn a whole lot from there! I was mind blown by their office and the level of amazingness that happens behind those walls!
It was such a small birthday party, but we all had tons of fun just enjoying each other’s company. I’ve known all of them for years since we go to the same university, but that was the night when I got to really get to know some of them and in turn, got to know me too. Wonderful night!
My first time partying with this gorgeous beauty. I never partied with my African friends before, so when she invited me to a ‘African’ club filled with African music on a Girl’s Night (which happens every Thursday. Free drinks!), I instantly said yes! It was such a fun night!
My article came out in the school magazine and I was so proud of myself! I thought it was pretty cool to be the only one with a three-page spread!!

December

So this is the end of the year, can’t believe 2013 is ending! It felt like it was just yesterday that I was busy ushering in 2013 and now 2014 is coming (or has come since I am writing this on January 3rd!).

The ending of THE SUMANDAK MOVEMENT: My Name Is Not HEY BABY’ where we share personal sexual harassment stories.
The last day of the year and Tracy and I are goofing about with the props for our photoshoot!
A Green Leaf Theatre House X’mas and New Years Party. Fun!!
Spending NYE with my stepsister who came to KK from Brunei!

There you have it folks! My whole of 2013 in one post! The highlight mostly, of course.

Hope you had a wonderful 2013. Here’s to a great 2014!!!!

One thought on “Here’s to the start of the new year.

Sprinkle me

