gty_instagram_video_nt_130624_wmain

Getting a new follower on any of your social media sites is pretty cool! It means that your voice is heard and pictures are seen. It’s a great feeling to have someone willfully (and not forced or bribed) and genuinely be interested in your life.

Many of my social media stuff – Facebook, Twitter – are on private, but my Instagram (@jazzzmineking) and of course, blog, are very much public.

Last week, I sent a short audition video for a radio announcer search. That first video on why I should be a radio announcer garnered 90 likes (the most likes I ever had), kind comments from friends and strangers alike, and 10 new followers. It was wild and I thought it was pretty cool too.

I was excited to meet my followers and those who ‘liked’ the video. I wanted to know who they are and what they look like, perhaps know what their lives are like to as I thought it was pretty cool and kind of them to like and comment on my video and even followed me.

To my frustration, many of their accounts are private which kind of sort of sucked. I understood the relevance of keeping your social media private and I am all for privacy as I myself get pretty anal about privacy issues especially when it comes to the Internet (I don’t use my real name on Facebook too!), but personally, I was feeling pretty sad that I couldn’t stalk get to know my followers while they enjoy getting glimpses of my life.

But hey, good on you for keeping your accounts private and for your friends and family’s eyes only!

I just wished that Instagram would give us ‘followee’ like a 24 hours free pass to visit our followers’ private accounts or something. That would be pretty cool! I would love to get to know some of my followers! But hey, that’s just me.

Tell me I’m not the only one feeling this!

Sprinkle me

